Aduana Stars

In December 1983, Mr. Eshun (Ghana Commercial Bank Manager – Dormaa Ahenkro) organised inter street Christmas gala for all the streets in Dormaa Ahenkro. The Mangoase Stars from MS (a street in Dormaa) emerged as winners of the gala. The managers of Mangoase Stars saw the need to unite in forming one strong and solid team after the gala in December, 1983. They then gathered all the good players in Dormaa Ahenkro to form a team.

In 1984, four (4) Dorman men led by Agya Donkor (a goldsmith), ably supported by Mr. Iddrisa Issaka, Kofi Boahen and others registered to play in the regional division 4 and adopted a new name for the Mangoase Stars as Aduana Stars Football Club.

Permission had to be obtained from Aduanahene (chief of Aboabo no 3) because the club adopted the official emblem of the Aduana Clan/Kingdom. The team played in division four (4) for two years before qualifying to division three in 1986. The club did not see much progress and went on recession for some years.

Thereafter, Mr. Rockson Gabral, a forestry officer rejuvenated the club by merging Aduana Stars Football Club and Badukrom Supper Indies Football Club as well as players from the old famous Abibiman FC also joined the reformed club after the collapse of Abibiman FC.

After years in yo-yoing in third, second and first division under the chairmanship of Mr. G. Rockson, the team still did not see any progress to the premiership. The chairman, Mr. Rockson, anonymously decided to sell the team. Very fortunately someone alerted Mr. Yeboah Alutah and he also quickly went and told the Omanhene of the Aduana Traditional Area, Nana Osagyefo Agyemang Badu II.
Nana called Mr. Rockson and took over the cards of the club and handed it back to the leaders who were from Dormaa. The leaders also handed over the administration of the club to Mr. Nomotey a former chairman of Abibiman FC.

Under the chairmanship of Mr. Nomotey, and others like Abdul Rahman Kwabena Ameyaw (holy-coach), Kumi Kyeremeh (Lalas-secretary) in 2002, the club sustain a come to stay in division two. The team qualified for the play-off to the first division in 2003/2004 second division league season but failed to qualify.
On January 1, 2004, Nana called the management of the club for an annual get-together and fund raising where he dissolved the management of the club and handed it to Kofi Ansu (power) as vice chairman and Lord Kofi Zico as the Chief Executive Officer. Nana Osagyefo Agyemang Badu II then took over as the life patron of the club.
The club won promotion to first division under Lord Kofi Zico’s era and struggled to progress to the premiership on two occasions which proofed unfruitful. In 2008, Mr. Lord Kofi Zico handed over the club to Kofi Ansu (Power) as Chief Executive Officer and left to manage his own club Unity FC.

In 2008, Abdul Rahman Kwabena Ameyaw (Holy Sinai) led the club to participate in the Opaemu Top Four Tournament at Sunyani and won the trophy.
In 2009, the club qualified for middle league and won promotion to the premiership under the chairmanship of Kofi Ansu (power) and others like George Gyawu (operations director), Edward Asare and Kwabena Ameyaw (coach).
Thereafter, Mr. Edward Asare was appointed as the chairman of the club, George Gyawu as Operations Director and Kofi Ansu as Life Director to steer the affairs of the club for the 2009/2010 Glo premier league.
In 2010, Hebert Addo, guided the club to their first Premier League Title and becoming the first Ghanaian debutant club to have won the Ghana premier league title as fewest scoring side in the Glo premier league 2009/2010, setting a world record for least productive champions with 19 goals in 30 matches, with an average score of 0.6333 goals per match, breaking the all time record set by Trabzonspor of Turkey in 1979/1980 Turkish Super Lig with 25 goals in 30 matches (average of 0.83333).
The club participated in the African Champions League 2010/2011 and were eliminated in the preliminary stages by WAC of Morocco on 3-1 aggregate.
Though, the club qualified for WAFU Club championship, the WAFU championship did not come on for the 2010/2011 season.

By Sharksadmin

This information box about the author only appears if the author has biographical information. Otherwise there is not author box shown. Follow YOOtheme on Twitter or read the blog.